Call for Abstracts: Der Finanzmarkt als Grenze der Demokratie? Politikwissenschaftliche Perspektiven auf zehn Jahre Finanzkrise

29 December 2017

We are happy to anounce that the Deutsche Vereinigung für Politikwissenschaft (DVPW) has accepted the panel “Der Finanzmarkt als Grenze der Demokratie? Politikwissenschaftliche Perspektiven auf zehn Jahre Finanzkrise”, co-organised by network members Benjamin Braun and Daniel Mertens.

If you would like to present a paper as part of the panel, please access the links below for further information.

The DVPW’s 27th annual meeting will be held at Goethe University Frankfurt on September 25-28, 2018.

Call for Abstracts (German)

Further information from Deutsche Vereinigung für Politikwissenschaft (DVPW)

Two panels accepted for 2018 Politologentag in Frankfurt

15 December 2017

For the 2018 Politologentag in Frankfurt (25th to 28th of September) the DFG-Network ‘Politics of Money’ will be holding two panels and bring together an inspiring group of scholars.

During the roundtable ‘Money and the limits of democracy: The potentials and pitfalls of democratizing central banks and money creation in the Global North and South’ the speakers seek to scrutinize the surprising resilience of contemporary finance capitalism through the prism of money theory with a view to its implications for democracy. To gain a truly global perspective the panel will zoom in on recent mobilizations for monetary sovereignty in the French Franc CFA region in Central and Western Africa.

Participating in the panel will be Prof. Dr. Daniela Gabor (University of Bristol), Prof. Dr. Susanne Söderberg (Kingston University, Ontario), Dr. Ndongo Samba Sylla (Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, Dakar) and Prof. Dr. Adam Tooze (Columbia University, New York).

Furthermore the ‘Author meets critics’ panel on Adam Tooze’s new book ‘Crashed’ will also be held at the 2018 Politologentag. Taking part in the panel will be Prof. Dr. Adam Tooze, Prof. Dr. Daniela Gabor and Prof. Andreas Nölke (University of Frankfurt).

The two panels will take place on the 27th of September 2018.


Daniela Gabor | Andreas Nölke | Susanne Söderberg | Ndongo Samba Sylla | Adam Tooze